Rafed English

Woquf in the Mashar al-Haraam

418. The third rite of the Hajj is the Woquf in the Mashar al-Haraam. Mashar al-Haraam is also known as al-Muzdalafah and Juma, and it is located between Arafaat and Mina, and there are signs indicating its borders.
419. It is obligatory to observe the woquf in Mashar al-Haraam after departing from Arafaat on the eve of the Eid, and as a precaution one should observe mabeetb[32] and at the break of Fajr one should declare the intention by stating, "Aqifu (I remain) in the Mashar al-Haraam from the Fajr to Sunrise, for the Tamattu Hajj seeking nearness to Allah." If he departs from it [Mashar al-Haraam] and went beyond the Mohassar valley before sunrise, he has sinned, and he should give a kaffaarah of a sheep as a precaution.
420. The entire woquf in the Mashar is obligatory and what can be called as woquf or "being there" is a rukn (principal element of the woquf). Thus he who completely abandons to observe it would invalidate his Hajj, and if he became insane or lost consciousness, or fell asleep, etc. after he observed what could be called as woquf, that would be sufficient to him in discharging his due in this respect. But if the above-mentioned scenarios happened to him during the entire period, as a precaution, his woquf is invalidated in certain cases, [but not always, the details of which are beyond the scope of this presentation].
421. The Woquf in the Mashar is not meant to be standing on the feet, but it is sufficient for one to be there, regardless of whether he was sitting or standing, sleeping or awake, or walking or moving from one place to another.
422. It is permissible to depart Mashar for Mina before the break of dawn for women, children, the elderly, and the sick for whom the congestion [of the day] would cause too much hardship for them. Also it is permitted to depart for those who have an urgent business to do.
423. If one does not manage to observe the woquf in the Mashar during the designated time, it is sufficient for him to observe the woquf there, even for a short time, before noontime / midday [on the day of Eid].
424. There are three specific times for the woquf in Mashar:
I. The Eve of the Eid, for one who is unable to observe woquf after the break of Fajr, as mentioned before.
II. Between the break of Fajr and sunrise.
III. Between sunrise and midday / noontime.
425. For each of the woquf's in Arafaat and Mashar there are two categories: the Designated (ikhtiari) and the Emergency. Depending on the success or failure of the pilgrim in observing the two woquf's, and their respective categories, the following could arise:
I. The pilgrim observes both woquf's in their Designated times, and there is no problem with his Hajj.
II. The pilgrim does not observe either of them at all, his Hajj is invalid, and thus he should perform the Mufradah Umrah with the ihraam he assumed for the Hajj.
III. The pilgrim observes the Designated Woquf in Arafaat and Emergency Woquf in the Mashar, and his Hajj is valid.
IV. The opposite of case # III (above), i.e. the pilgrim observes the Emergency Woquf in Arafaat and Designated Woquf in the Mashar, and his Hajj is valid.
V. The pilgrim observes the Emergency Woquf in both [i.e. Arafaat and the Mashar], and his Hajj is valid.
VI. The pilgrim observes the Designated Woquf in Arafaat only, and his Hajj is valid.
VII. The pilgrim observes the Designated Woquf in Mashar only, and his Hajj is valid.
VIII. The pilgrim observes the Emergency Woquf in Arafaat only, and his Hajj is invalid.
IX. The pilgrim observes the Emergency Woquf in Mashar only, thus his Hajj is valid.
426. It is recommended that [while] in the Mashar al-Haraam, one should collect the stones [required] for the Ram'y [or the stoning of the Jamaraat], and it is permissible to take more than that is required, and it is permissible for others to collect for him, and if he ran out of stones, he may collect stones from the valley of Mohassar or from Mina.
427. After the sunrise on the day of Eid, it is obligatory for the pilgrim to depart from Mashar al-Haraam for Mina to perform its rites, which are the Ram'y [stoning], Had'y [sacrifice], and Halq [shaving], which are the fourth, fifth, and sixth rites of the Hajj.


[32] The reference to mabeet in Mashar al-Haraam points to the requirement of being there for the entire period, whereas the woquf points to being there for only a short period of time, like the case of the women and children and the elderly, who can stay there for a relatively brief period to be considered as woquf and then depart for Mina.

Share this article

Comments 0

Your comment

Comment description

Latest Post

Most Reviews